UNILORIN Appoints 40 New Professors

UNILORIN Appoints 40 New Professors

The University of Ilorin (UNILORIN) has elevated 40 of its senior academics to Professorial cadre.

The appointment of the new Professors was approved by the Minister of Education, Prof. Tahir Mamman (SAN), sequel to the recommendations of the University’s Appointment and Promotion Committee.

A statement from the Office of the Registrar of the institution, Barr. Alfa Nla, said that the 40 distinguished scholars were found to have excelled in the realms of teaching, research and community service and were subsequently promoted to the highest rank obtainable in the academia.

The breakdown of the beneficiaries of the promotion exercise showed that 11 of the new Professors were produced by the Faculty of Agriculture and they are Prof. Sidiqat Aderinoye-Abdulwahab, Prof. L. L. Adefalu, Prof. F. O. Takimand, and Prof. A. A. Badmos.

Others are Prof. Foluke E. Sola-Ojo, Prof. W. A. Jimoh, Prof. M. I. Abubakar, Prof. T. H. Aliyu, Prof. R. O. Uddin II, Prof. T. O. Amusa and Prof. Mutiat A. Balogun.
From the Faculty of Arts are Prof. K. M. U. Gbodofu, Prof. Y. A. Abdullahi, Prof. Abosede R. O. Babatunde, Prof. BolanleE. Arokoyo, and Prof. P. U. Nwosu, while the Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences produced Prof. A. S. Alabi, who teaches at the Department of Anatomy.

Two lecturers from the Faculty of Clinical Sciences were also elevated to the rank of Professor and they are Prof. T. O. Olanrewaju and Prof. O. A. M. Adesiyun.

The Faculty of Communication and Information Science also produced Tinuke Oladele and Prof. Saudat AbdulBaqi, while those promoted from the Faculty of Education are Prof. O. O. Okoji, Prof. Folakemi O. Adeniyi-Egbeola and Prof. Florence O. Daramola

From the Faculty of Engineering and Technology are Prof. A. T. Ajiboye, Prof. A. Y. Abdulrahman, Prof. M. O. Sumonu, Prof. Rasheedat M. Mahamood and Prof. T. K. Ajiboye.

The Faculty of Law produced Prof. A. C. Onuora-Oguno, while the Faculty of Life Sciences produced four new Professors which include Prof. M. O. Nafiu, Prof. Faoziyat A. Sulaiman, Prof. Risikat Nike Ahmed, and Prof. I. O. Sule.

Those promoted from the Faculty of Management Sciences are Prof. M. A. Ajayi and Prof. Rihanat I. Abdulkadir as the Faculty of Physical Sciences also produced two new professors through Prof. Haleemat I. Adegoke and Prof. O. A. Abidoye.

The promotion of Prof. Monisola A. Tunde of the Department of Geography and Environmental Management was also confirmed, while the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine also produced Prof. Z. Jaji from the Department of Veterinary Anatomy.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.