Wike Appoints New Traditional Rulers For FCT Chiefdoms

Wike Appoints New Traditional Rulers For FCT Chiefdoms

Minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Nyesom Wike, has approved the appointments of Mr Joseph Danfulani Narai, Mr Luka Ayedo Nizassan, and Alhaji Aliyu Yakubu Ndatsu as the new Sakaruyi of Karu, Esu of Kwali and Etsu of Yaba communities of FCT, respectively.

The Sakaruyi of Karu, is a second class Chief in the Abuja Municipal Area Council (AMAC), Esu of Kwali is a second class Chief in Kwali Area Council and Etsu of Yaba is a third class Chief in the Abaji Area Council of FCT

The appointment of Sakaruyi of Karu was with effect from April 22, 2024; while that of the Esu of Kwali and Etsu of Yaba were effective from May 2, 2024.

The mandate secretary, FCT Area Council Services Secretariat, Mr Bitrus Lawrence Garki, while presenting the appointment letters to the new traditional rulers, said that they emerged following the death of their predecessors in their respective chiefdoms.

The secretary, who presented the appointment letters to the new chiefs on behalf of the FCT Minister, congratulated the new royal fathers.

“Today is a great day, a day we cannot forget easily, especially by the people of Kwali and Yaba Chiefdoms.

“The FCT Administration is doing this as part of the “Renewed Hope Agenda” of Mr. President. This is all about delivery of dividends of democracy to the people,” Garki said.

The mandate secretary further said that the choice of trio was arrived at after a successful scrutiny, selection and voting process as well as traditional rites were carried out by the kingmakers in line with the customs and traditions of their people.

He assured the newly appointed Chiefs that the FCT Administration will work in synergy with them to improve the living standards of their subjects.

Garki, therefore, called on the traditional rulers to support the policies and programmes of the government to foster growth and development at the grassroots.

Karu, Kwali and Yaba communities are among the 17 Chiefdoms in the FCT.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.